01 August 2013
This is for Anna or anyone else that may be able to check into this.
It would be beneficial to all users if ABBYY could make their complete "Knowledge Base" available to us. I'm sure the techs @ ABBYY use something like this. This way we could use that knowledge to solve problems and also learn more.
If memory serves me well, I think ABBYY has a "light" version of this "Knowledge Base" online, but I would also think that the actual ABBYY techs have much more information than what is presently posted to the web. In the past the information available on-line has not answered many questions for me. Although, I haven't been their in a long time.
It would also be nice if we could add to the knowledge base or at least post messages that could be reviewed and, if thought useful, could be added by ABBYY to that Knowledge Base.
I am extremely fortunate to have Ray Belden as my ABBYY reseller. He has been invaluable through the years in assisting me, but I would like to be able to help myself without the need to get him involved. And I'm sure it would benefits him also, as it would free more of his time.
Here is a small example of what I am talking about.
Over time I have had occasional problems deleting a Project from the server. I think today, I may have learned how to resolve this. I am told that when the ABBYY services are shut down that all sessions will cease, thus allowing a Project to be terminated from the server. But experience has shown that terminating the services don't always close all sessions. It appears that if all sessions are not closed the ability to delete Projects from the server is not available. Other users may run into the same issue and if posted to a Knowledge Base it would be accessible to them.
Delete FC10 Project
All users should be logged out of ABBYY before starting.
Admin and Monitoring > Service > Application Server
Then refresh Server Pojects List
Stop all ABBYY services, except the Licensing Server
Select the Project that is to be deleted and click "Delete Project".
If the "Delete Project" button is grayed out, go to;
Admin and Monitoring > Monitoring > Sessions
End all running sessions.
You should then be able to delete the desired Project from the server.
After deletion, make sure to re-start all ABBYY services.
Let me know your thoughts on this,